City Council

Bowling Green City Council is the legislative branch of the City’s government.  The Council meets regularly on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month at 7 pm in the Council Chamber located in the City Administrative Services Building at 304 North Church Street.  Public hearings are often scheduled in advance of the regular Council meeting.

The City Council has seven members.  Three members are elected on a City-wide basis (At-large) for four-year terms.  The other four members represent each of the City’s four wards and serve two-year terms.

The Council has seven designated committees: Finance and Way & Means; Transportation and Safety; Public Utilities; Planning, Zoning, and Economic Development; Public Lands and Buildings; and Community Improvement.  These committees do not have a regular meeting schedule but schedule meetings as necessary.  Current committee assignments are as follows:

Finance and Ways & Means Committee
Chair – Robert McOmber
Members – Michael Aspacher and Scott Seeliger
Transportation & Safety Committee
Chair – John Zanfardino
Members – Daniel Gordon and Sandy Rowland
Public Utilities Committee
Chair – Michael Aspacher
Members – Bruce Jeffers and Robert McOmber
Planning, Zoning & Economic Development Committee
Chair – Bruce Jeffers
Members – Sandy Rowland and Scott Seeliger
Parks & Recreation Committee
Chair – Sandy Rowland
Members – Michael Aspacher and Daniel Gordon
Public Lands & Buildings Committee
Chair – Scott Seeliger
Members – Bruce Jeffers and John Zanfardino
Community Improvement Committee
Chair – Daniel Gordon
Members – Robert McOmber and John Zanfardino